CoinBase Expands to 85 New Countries, No African Country Yet

Coinbase, the mega American crypto exchange, recently announced that it’s services are now available in 103 countries, up from just 32 countries previously. No African country yet has been added to its list of countries where its services are available.

The announcement came during the trading launch of USDC stablecoin on the platform.

SEE ALSOAfrica-focused Celo Blockchain Adds CoinBase and Anchorage as Custody Providers for Celo Gold

In a blog post this week, CoinBase said:

“Today’s news is an important milestone for Coinbase and crypto adoption everywhere. A year ago, Coinbase was only available to customers in 32 countries. Over the last 12 months, we’ve reinforced our foundational work to better scale our trusted, safe and legal bridge to crypto. Today, we serve customers in 103 countries across every major continent, 50 of which we’re announcing today.”

According to the Coinbase website, you cannot buy or sell crypto in any country in Africa. However, 13 African countries so far have been listed on the Coinbase exchange where one can only ‘convert.’

These countries include:

It is noteworthy that Nigeria is evidently missing from the list. Nigeria has one of the largest Bitcoin and crypto holdings and activities in Africa, according to recent statistics.

It will be interesting to see how things turn out as large exchanges like Coinbase and Binance expand and offer their services beyond certain jurisdictions in order to leverage the massive interest in the space globally.


RECOMMENDED READINGHow To Buy And Sell Cryptocurrencies in Kenya


Start trading bitcoin today from as low as $10.

Open a Paxful Bitcoin Trading Account to get started!




Download the free report here:



Follow us on Twitter for latest posts and updates